Begin main content
 

Principal Investigator

 

Stephen G. Young, M.D.
Distinguished Professor
SGYoung@mednet.ucla.edu

 

BIOGRAPHY
Stephen Young grew up in Kansas and obtained an undergraduate degree in history from Princeton University. Following medical school at Washington University-St. Louis, he did internal medicine training at UCSF and cardiology training at UCSD. He then embarked on a career in basic science. He did postdoctoral research training in lipid metabolism at UCSD with Dr. Joseph Witztum and then worked at a UCSF-affiliated research institute for 17 years. Along the way, he became an expert in using genetically modified mice to investigate the gene function in health and disease. Currently, his laboratory studies an endothelial cell protein required for plasma triglyceride metabolism and diseases of the nuclear envelope. His laboratory has a strong track record in developing the careers of young scientists. Dr. Young has received multiple awards and is a member of the National Academy of Sciences.

Google Scholar

 
 

Postdoctoral Scholars

 

 

 

 

Research Associates

 

Thomas Weston
TWeston@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Graduate Students

 

Priscilla Munguia
PMunguia@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Undergraduate Students

 

Caitlyn Tran
CMTran@mednet.ucla.edu

 

Katherine Xie
kettx@g.ucla.edu

 

UCLA Faculty Collaborators 

 

Loren Fong
Professor
LFong@mednet.ucla.edu

Anne Beigneux
Associate Professor
ABeigneux@mednet.ucla.edu